Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Notes from a public typewriter

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
A collection of confessional, hilarious, heartbreaking notes written anonymously on a public typewriter for fans of PostSecret and Other People's Love Letters. When Michael Gustafson and his wife Hilary opened Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan, they put out a typewriter for anyone to use. They had no idea what to expect. Would people ask metaphysical questions? Write mean things? Pour their souls onto the page? Yes, no, and did they ever. Every day, people of all ages sit down at the public typewriter. Children perch atop grandparents' knees, both sets of hands hovering above the metal keys: I LOVE YOU. Others walk in alone on Friday nights and confess their hopes: I will find someone someday. And some leave funny asides for the next person who sits down: I dislike people, misanthropes, irony, and ellipses ... and lists too. In NOTES FROM A PUBLIC TYPEWRITER Michael and designer Oliver Uberti have combined their favorite notes with essays and photos to create an ode to community and the written word that will surprise, delight, and inspire.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID47a6fe3a-22ca-d1c0-4fe1-cf40a19c9bc0
Grouping Titlenotes from a public typewriter
Grouping Authormichael gustafson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-19 02:27:58AM
Last Indexed2020-10-19 02:52:48AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gustafson, Michael, (Bookstore proprietor),
Uberti, Oliver,
authorMichael Gustafson
author2-roleGustafson, Michael,(Bookstore proprietor),editor.
Uberti, Oliver,editor.
author_display
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Franklin
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Franklin
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
South Natomas
display_descriptionA collection of confessional, hilarious, heartbreaking notes written anonymously on a public typewriter for fans of PostSecret and Other People's Love Letters. When Michael Gustafson and his wife Hilary opened Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan, they put out a typewriter for anyone to use. They had no idea what to expect. Would people ask metaphysical questions? Write mean things? Pour their souls onto the page? Yes, no, and did they ever. Every day, people of all ages sit down at the public typewriter. Children perch atop grandparents' knees, both sets of hands hovering above the metal keys: I LOVE YOU. Others walk in alone on Friday nights and confess their hopes: I will find someone someday. And some leave funny asides for the next person who sits down: I dislike people, misanthropes, irony, and ellipses ... and lists too. In NOTES FROM A PUBLIC TYPEWRITER Michael and designer Oliver Uberti have combined their favorite notes with essays and photos to create an ode to community and the written word that will surprise, delight, and inspire.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id47a6fe3a-22ca-d1c0-4fe1-cf40a19c9bc0
isbn9781538729113
9781538747025
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8bcd8371-b8ba-413c-845c-9f85d47b72bf-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b25527149.i80152910Rancho Cordova810.8097 G982 20181falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b25527149.i78687020Rio Linda810.8097 G982 20181falsefalseOn Shelfrioag
ils:.b25527149.i78072116South Natomas810.8097 G982 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25527149.i7833889xFranklin810.8097 G982 20181falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b25527149.i78501180Carmichael810.8097 G982 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-19T09:52:48.114Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog810.8097 G982 2018
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Franklin
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
South Natomas
primary_isbn9781538729113
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:8bcd8371-b8ba-413c-845c-9f85d47b72bfeBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2018
ils:.b25527149BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishGrand Central Publishing, 2018.159 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 19 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8bcd8371-b8ba-413c-845c-9f85d47b72bf-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25527149.i80152910On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25527149.i78687020On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25527149.i78072116On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25527149.i7833889xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25527149.i78501180On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetBookstores -- Michigan -- Ann Arbor
Literati Bookstore
Typewriting -- Michigan -- Ann Arbor
title_displayNotes from a public typewriter
title_fullNotes from a Public Typewriter
Notes from a public typewriter / edited by Michael Gustafson and Oliver Uberti
title_shortNotes from a public typewriter
topic_facetBookstores
Literary Criticism
New Age
Nonfiction
Typewriting