We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

On Account of the Gum

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: LG - BL: 2.9 - AR Pts: 0.5
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 560L
Description
On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas!
Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid's hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuff stuck in hair.
From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum.
• Features hilarious text with unexpected turns and fun rhymes
• Wacky suggestions make this prime for constant giggles and repeat reading
• Author Adam Rex has a funny, smart, and relatable style
How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she'll know what to do. She doesn't? Try the fire department!
With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate.
• A wonderful blend of light wordplay, zany humor, and a timeless topic
• Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!
• Great for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and educators who are looking for a funny, relatable tale to read out loud
• You'll love this book if you love books like We Don't Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins, The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, and The Bad Seed by Jory John.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781452181905
9781452181547
Accelerated Reader:
LG
Level 2.9, 0.5 Points
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID471836c4-b0be-b488-a5ec-0b083e229691
Grouping Titleon account of the gum
Grouping Authoradam rex
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-27 02:25:04AM
Last Indexed2024-02-26 06:16:20AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
LG
accelerated_reader_point_value
0.5
accelerated_reader_reading_level
2.9
auth_author2
Rex, Adam
author
Rex, Adam
author2-role
Rex, Adam,illustrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Rex, Adam
available_at_catalog
Arcade
Central
Isleton
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade Children's Area
Carmichael Children's Area
Central Kids Place
Franklin Children's
Isleton Children's Area
North Natomas Children's Area
Walnut Grove Children's Area
display_description
On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas!
Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid's hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuff stuck in hair.
From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum.
• Features hilarious text with unexpected turns and fun rhymes
• Wacky suggestions make this prime for constant giggles and repeat reading
• Author Adam Rex has a funny, smart, and relatable style
How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she'll know what to do. She doesn't? Try the fire department!
With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate.
• A wonderful blend of light wordplay, zany humor, and a timeless topic
• Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!
• Great for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and educators who are looking for a funny, relatable tale to read out loud
• You'll love this book if you love books like We Don't Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins, The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, and The Bad Seed by Jory John.
format_catalog
Picture Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
471836c4-b0be-b488-a5ec-0b083e229691
isbn
9781452181547
9781452181905
itype_catalog
Child Book
Picture Book
last_indexed
2024-02-26T14:16:20.062Z
lexile_code
AD: Adult Directed
lexile_score
560
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
PICTURE BOOK Rex, A.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
Carmichael
Central
Franklin
Isleton
North Natomas
Walnut Grove
primary_isbn
9781452181905
publishDate
2020
publisher
Chronicle Books
Chronicle Books LLC
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Chewing gum -- Juvenile fiction
Electronic books
Humorous stories
Stories in rhyme
title_display
On Account of the Gum
title_full
On Account of the Gum
On Account of the Gum [electronic resource] / Adam Rex
On account of the gum / written and illustrated by Adam Rex
title_short
On Account of the Gum
topic_facet
Chewing gum
Electronic books
Humorous stories
Juvenile Fiction
Picture Book Fiction
Stories in rhyme

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b26402154.i83780488Isleton Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfislcg
ils:.b26402154.i83780452Walnut Grove Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseDue Jul 30, 2024walcg
ils:.b26402154.i8378049xArcade Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfarccg
ils:.b26402154.i83852670Princeton Branch Library Children's CollectionE1falsefalseOn Shelfpric
ils:.b26402154.i83780427Central Kids PlacePICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfcencg
ils:.b26402154.i83780464Franklin Children'sPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseDue Mar 14, 2024fracg
ils:.b26402154.i83780506Carmichael Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseDue Feb 29, 2024carcg
ils:.b26402154.i84160706Folsom Storytime RoomPICTURE BOOK STORIES RE1falsefalseOn Shelffolje
ils:.b26402154.i8439898xWoodland Public Library Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK STORIES Rex1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpj
ils:.b26402154.i83780415North Natomas Children's AreaPICTURE BOOK Rex, A.1falsefalseDue Mar 5, 2024nntcg
ils:.b26402154.i84160718Folsom Storytime RoomPICTURE BOOK STORIES RE1falsefalseDue Feb 29, 2024folje
hoopla:MWT14868334Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14865925?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:087536ee-0fb5-424e-8387-59fafbf5d57c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b26402154Picture BookBooksEnglishChronicle Books[2020]1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
hoopla:MWT14868334eBookeBookEnglishChronicle Books LLC20201 online resource (56 pages)
overdrive:087536ee-0fb5-424e-8387-59fafbf5d57ceBookeBookEnglishChronicle Books LLC2020

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26402154.i83780488On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i83780452Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i8378049xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i83852670On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106
ils:.b26402154.i83780427On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i83780464Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i83780506Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i84160706On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b26402154.i8439898xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b26402154.i83780415Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b26402154.i84160718Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
hoopla:MWT14868334Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:087536ee-0fb5-424e-8387-59fafbf5d57c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse