Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Wetlands: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A sexual, scatological, international sensation: "A cri de coeur against the oppression of a waxed, shaved, douched and otherwise sanitized women's world" (Nicholas Kulish, The New York Times). In the tradition of The Sexual Life of Catherine M. and Melissa P.'s 100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed, Charlotte Roche's debut novel—which sold more than a million copies in Germany alone—exposes the double bind of female sexuality, delivering a compulsively readable and fearlessly intimate manifesto on sex, hygiene, and the repercussions of family trauma. Helen Memel is an outspoken eighteen-year-old, whose childlike stubbornness is offset by a precocious sexual confidence. From a hospital bed, where she's recovering from an operation and lamenting her parents' divorce, Helen ruminates on her past sexual and physical adventures in "a headlong dash through every crevice and byproduct—both physical and psychological—of Helen's body and mind" (The New York Times). Punky alienated teenager, young woman reclaiming her body from the tyranny of repressive hygiene (women mustn't smell, excrete, desire), bratty smartass, lonely daughter, shock merchant, and pleasure seeker—Helen is all of these things and more, and her frequent attempts to assert her maturity ultimately prove just how fragile, confused, and young she truly is.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780802118929
9780802199928
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID44f3175d-ea93-12f8-a2d9-5b8e33993a47
Grouping Titlewetlands
Grouping Authorcharlotte roche
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-26 02:27:51AM
Last Indexed2021-02-26 02:58:22AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Mohr, Tim.
authorRoche, Charlotte, 1978-
author2-roleMohr, Tim.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRoche, Charlotte
available_at_catalogNorth Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogNorth Highlands-Antelope
display_descriptionA sexual, scatological, international sensation: "A cri de coeur against the oppression of a waxed, shaved, douched and otherwise sanitized women's world" (Nicholas Kulish, The New York Times).

In the tradition of The Sexual Life of Catherine M. and Melissa P.'s 100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed, Charlotte Roche's debut novel—which sold more than a million copies in Germany alone—exposes the double bind of female sexuality, delivering a compulsively readable and fearlessly intimate manifesto on sex, hygiene, and the repercussions of family trauma.

Helen Memel is an outspoken eighteen-year-old, whose childlike stubbornness is offset by a precocious sexual confidence. From a hospital bed, where she's recovering from an operation and lamenting her parents' divorce, Helen ruminates on her past sexual and physical adventures in "a headlong dash through every crevice and byproduct—both physical and psychological—of Helen's body and mind" (The New York Times).

Punky alienated teenager, young woman reclaiming her body from the tyranny of repressive hygiene (women mustn't smell, excrete, desire), bratty smartass, lonely daughter, shock merchant, and pleasure seeker—Helen is all of these things and more, and her frequent attempts to assert her maturity ultimately prove just how fragile, confused, and young she truly is.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id44f3175d-ea93-12f8-a2d9-5b8e33993a47
isbn9780802118929
9780802199928
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:6deedd97-7e2c-4009-9fb9-35addb00bf22-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12268473Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12268473Available Online
ils:.b19801841.i60451506North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Roche, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-26T10:58:22.197Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Roche, C.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogNorth Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9780802118929
publishDate2009
2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:6deedd97-7e2c-4009-9fb9-35addb00bf22eBookeBookEnglishGrove Atlantic2010
hoopla:MWT12268473eBookeBookEnglishGrove/Atlantic, Inc., 2010.1 online resource
ils:.b19801841BookBooks1st ed.EnglishGrove Press ;c2009.229 p. ; 20 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6deedd97-7e2c-4009-9fb9-35addb00bf22-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12268473Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19801841.i60451506On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetElectronic books
Women -- Sexual behavior -- Fiction
title_displayWetlands
title_fullWetlands / Charlotte Roche ; translated from the German by Tim Mohr
Wetlands A Novel
Wetlands [electronic resource] Roche, Charlotte, 1978-
title_shortWetlands
title_subA Novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Literature
Sexual behavior
Women