Please pardon us while we make updates to the catalog. There will be some interruptions in service, including search functionality. Due to improvements to our search engine during the current update, catalog search results won't be available at this time.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Red dog: a Slim in Little Egypt mystery

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
"Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne'er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller's wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series--perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt--a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters--the self-appointed "redneck detective" known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for "bloodhounding"--tracking down missing persons the police can't find or won't--Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses' red-haired purebred pitbull--and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off--Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. all because he just wanted to get cool. As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062449061
9780062449078
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID423318c8-2c6c-b0f7-3573-186b670bd5c0
Grouping Titlered dog
Grouping Authorjason miller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-12-07 21:16:08PM
Last Indexed2021-12-07 21:57:53PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMiller, Jason
author2-rolehoopla digital
author_displayMiller, Jason
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description"Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne'er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller's wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series--perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt--a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters--the self-appointed "redneck detective" known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for "bloodhounding"--tracking down missing persons the police can't find or won't--Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses' red-haired purebred pitbull--and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off--Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. all because he just wanted to get cool. As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id423318c8-2c6c-b0f7-3573-186b670bd5c0
isbn9780062449061
9780062449078
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12458120Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458120?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24334790.i74562265CentralMYSTERY Miller, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:74d10557-ae9c-4965-941a-fd5b6313f4a3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-12-08T05:57:53.377Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogMYSTERY Miller, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9780062449061
publishDate2016
publisherHarper Collins Publishers,
Harper Paperbacks
Harper,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12458120eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers20161 online resource
ils:.b24334790BookBooksFirst Harper paperback editionEnglishHarper2016338 pages ; 21 cm.
overdrive:74d10557-ae9c-4965-941a-fd5b6313f4a3eBookeBookEnglishHarper Paperbacks2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12458120Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24334790.i74562265On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:74d10557-ae9c-4965-941a-fd5b6313f4a3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBlack humor (Literature)
Dogfighting -- Fiction
Electronic books
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Private investigators -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
title_displayRed dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
title_fullRed Dog A Novel
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery / Jason Miller
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery [electronic resource] / Jason Miller
title_shortRed dog
title_suba Slim in Little Egypt mystery
topic_facetDogfighting
Electronic books
Fiction
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Private investigators
Suspense
Thriller