We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The scent of secrets: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
NoveList Series:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553393903
9780553393910
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID40941877-a965-0050-cbea-8c42b0b8a167
Grouping Titlescent of secrets
Grouping Authorjane thynne
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-09 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-08-09 02:44:30AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Thynne, Jane
author_display
Thynne, Jane
available_at_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
display_description
"Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge. The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by hisrequest: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Fuhrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
40941877-a965-0050-cbea-8c42b0b8a167
isbn
9780553393903
9780553393910
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-09T09:44:30.075Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Thynne, J.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
primary_isbn
9780553393903
publishDate
2015
publisher
Ballantine Books
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Clara Vine novels
series_with_volume
Clara Vine novels|3
subject_facet
Actresses -- Fiction
Espionage -- Great Britain -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Germany -- History -- 1933-1945 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Intelligence officers -- Great Britain -- Fiction
Spy stories
title_display
The scent of secrets : a novel
title_full
The Scent of Secrets A Novel
The scent of secrets : a novel / Jane Thynne
title_short
The scent of secrets
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Actresses
Espionage
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Intelligence officers
Literature
Mystery
Spy stories

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b23777564.i72611224CarmichaelFICTION Thynne, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b23777564.i72611182Arden-DimickFICTION Thynne, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90beBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
ils:.b23777564BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books[2015]xviii, 422 pages ; 21 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:fd6dadde-a780-4faa-a863-c58558def90b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23777564.i72611224On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23777564.i72611182On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911