We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A natural: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed.

Meanwhile, the team’s popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her.

A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.

Praise for A Natural

“This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life’s unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . .  The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it’s powerful.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“Raisin’s transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain.”Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780525508779
9780525508786
9781681688305
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3dc9d6b2-b2eb-c72f-2b60-90e69514d356
Grouping Titlenatural
Grouping Authorross raisin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-15 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-15 02:49:48AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Grindell, Shaun
author
Raisin, Ross, 1979-
author2-role
Grindell, Shaun
hoopla digital
author_display
Raisin, Ross
available_at_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
Sylvan Oaks
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
Sacramento Public Library Storage
Sylvan Oaks
display_description
From dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed.

Meanwhile, the team’s popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her.

A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.

Praise for A Natural

“This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life’s unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . .  The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it’s powerful.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“Raisin’s transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain.”Kirkus Reviews
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
3dc9d6b2-b2eb-c72f-2b60-90e69514d356
isbn
9780525508779
9780525508786
9781681688305
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-15T09:49:48.295Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Raisin, R.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn
9780525508779
publishDate
2017
publisher
HighBridge
Random House
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Soccer players -- England -- Fiction
Soccer stories, English
title_display
A natural : a novel
title_full
A Natural A Novel
A natural : a novel / Ross Raisin
A natural [electronic resource] / Ross Raisin
title_short
A natural
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
LGBTQIA+ (Fiction)
Literature
Soccer players
Soccer stories, English

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b25059683.i76941036CentralFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25059683.i76941061Sylvan OaksFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
ils:.b25059683.i7694105xSacramento Public Library StorageFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b25059683.i76941073Arden-DimickFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
hoopla:MWT11974403Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11974403?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283ceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2017
ils:.b25059683BookBooksFirst U.S. editionEnglishRandom House[2017]386 pages ; 25 cm
hoopla:MWT11974403eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHighBridge20171 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 41 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25059683.i76941036On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25059683.i76941061On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25059683.i7694105xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25059683.i76941073On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT11974403Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse