Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

A natural: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding. After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed. Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her. A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.Praise for A Natural"This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life's unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . . The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it's powerful."The New York Times Book Review "Raisin's transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate."Booklist (starred review) "An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain."Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780525508779
9780525508786
9781681688305
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3dc9d6b2-b2eb-c72f-2b60-90e69514d356
Grouping Titlenatural
Grouping Authorross raisin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-22 02:27:14AM
Last Indexed2021-01-22 02:51:31AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Grindell, Shaun.
authorRaisin, Ross, 1979-
author2-roleGrindell, Shaun.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRaisin, Ross
available_at_catalogCentral
McKinley
Sylvan Oaks
detailed_location_catalogCentral
McKinley
Sylvan Oaks
display_descriptionFrom dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.
After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed.
Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her.
A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.
Praise for A Natural
"This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life's unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . . The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it's powerful."The New York Times Book Review

"Raisin's transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate."Booklist (starred review)

"An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain."Kirkus Reviews
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id3dc9d6b2-b2eb-c72f-2b60-90e69514d356
isbn9780525508779
9780525508786
9781681688305
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25059683.i76941061Sylvan OaksFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
ils:.b25059683.i76941036CentralFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25059683.i76941073McKinleyFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b25059683.i7694105xSylvan OaksFICTION Raisin, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
hoopla:MWT11974403Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11974403?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-22T10:51:31.164Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Raisin, R.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
McKinley
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn9780525508779
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283ceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2017
ils:.b25059683BookBooksFirst U.S. edition.EnglishRandom House, [2017]386 pages ; 25 cm.
hoopla:MWT11974403eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 41 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c65d914f-1f5f-489e-b8c8-f83e8b88283c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:6adba65f-464b-4e02-99d4-e9dcf43d5270-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25059683.i76941061On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25059683.i76941036On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25059683.i76941073On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25059683.i7694105xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT11974403Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetSoccer players -- England -- Fiction
Soccer stories, English
title_displayA natural : a novel
title_fullA Natural A Novel
A natural : a novel / Ross Raisin
A natural [electronic resource] / Ross Raisin
title_shortA natural
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature
Soccer players
Soccer stories, English