Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

A Song to Take the World Apart

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
What if you could make someone love you back, just by singing to them? Fans of Sarah McCarry's All Our Pretty Songs and Leslye Walton's The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender will be captivated by this contemporary love story with hints of magical realism.

Hanging out with Chris was supposed to make Lorelei's life normal. He's cooler, he's older, and he's in a band, which means he can teach her about the music that was forbidden in her house growing up. Her grandmother told her when she was little that she was never allowed to sing, but listening to someone else do it is probably harmless—right?

The more she listens, though, the more keenly she can feel her own voice locked up in her throat, and how she longs to use it. And as she starts exploring the power her grandmother never wanted her to discover, influencing Chris and everyone around her, the foundations of Lorelei's life start to crumble. There's a reason the women in her family never want to talk about what their voices can do.

And a reason Lorelei can't seem to stop herself from singing anyway.
"Zan Romanoff's music-saturated debut will snare readers with its melodic, pop-punk hooks and elegant riffs on growing up, falling in love, and letting go." —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs
"Family secrets, first love, and the elemental, raw power of music are all on display in Zan Romanoff's gorgeous novel. A Song To Take the World Apart gives us a heroine who's as fierce as she is vulnerable, and a story that's as page-turning as it is profound. An enchanting and beautiful debut." New York TimesCalifornia
From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781101938812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID34c5f96b-2836-cd5f-2ce8-de5baeefb6a4
Grouping Titlesong to take the world apart
Grouping Authorzan romanoff
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-07-27 02:27:01AM
Last Indexed2021-07-27 02:58:58AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101938799

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorZan Romanoff
author_displayZan Romanoff
display_descriptionWhat if you could make someone love you back, just by singing to them? Fans of Sarah McCarry's All Our Pretty Songs and Leslye Walton's The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender will be captivated by this contemporary love story with hints of magical realism.

Hanging out with Chris was supposed to make Lorelei's life normal. He's cooler, he's older, and he's in a band, which means he can teach her about the music that was forbidden in her house growing up. Her grandmother told her when she was little that she was never allowed to sing, but listening to someone else do it is probably harmless—right?

The more she listens, though, the more keenly she can feel her own voice locked up in her throat, and how she longs to use it. And as she starts exploring the power her grandmother never wanted her to discover, influencing Chris and everyone around her, the foundations of Lorelei's life start to crumble. There's a reason the women in her family never want to talk about what their voices can do.

And a reason Lorelei can't seem to stop herself from singing anyway.
"Zan Romanoff's music-saturated debut will snare readers with its melodic, pop-punk hooks and elegant riffs on growing up, falling in love, and letting go." —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs
"Family secrets, first love, and the elemental, raw power of music are all on display in Zan Romanoff's gorgeous novel. A Song To Take the World Apart gives us a heroine who's as fierce as she is vulnerable, and a story that's as page-turning as it is profound. An enchanting and beautiful debut." New York TimesCalifornia
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalogeBook
format_category_catalogeBook
id34c5f96b-2836-cd5f-2ce8-de5baeefb6a4
isbn9781101938812
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:6f9270ec-32a4-4125-8e57-b6e33dd907ab-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-07-27T09:58:58.994Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
primary_isbn9781101938812
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:6f9270ec-32a4-4125-8e57-b6e33dd907abeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6f9270ec-32a4-4125-8e57-b6e33dd907ab-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayA Song to Take the World Apart
title_fullA Song to Take the World Apart
title_shortA Song to Take the World Apart
topic_facetMythology
Romance
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature