We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A very typical family: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"A propulsive contemporary women's fiction debut with dark humor and messy yet warm-hearted family dynamics, perfect for fans of Claire Lombardo's The Most Fun We Ever Had and Emma Straub's All Adults Here. All families are messy. Some are disasters. Natalie Walker is the reason her older brother and sister went to prison over 15 years ago. She fled California shortly after that fateful night and hasn't spoken to anyone in her family since. Ten years later--on the same day her boyfriend steals her dream job out from under her--Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer saying her estranged mother has died and left the family's historic Santa Cruz house to her. Sort of. The only way for Natalie and her siblings to inherit is for all three adult children to come back and claim it--together. Natalie drives cross-country to Santa Cruz with her willful cat in tow expecting to sign some papers, see siblings Lynn and Jake briefly, and get back to sorting out her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning ornithologist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in New York City, shows up with a teenage son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake--meeting a very handsome marine biologist who immediately captures her heart--she unpacks the guilt she has held onto for so many years, wondering how-or if-she can salvage a relationship with her siblings after all this time. A Very Typical Family navigates the messy yet warm-hearted journey of a family struggling to find each other again. Written with delightfully dark humor and characters you can't help but cheer for, this debut from Sierra Godfrey will have you reveling in the power of family and second chances. No one can change the past, but every day is an opportunity to choose your future"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781728255200
9781728255224
9798212005289
9798212005302
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID31aba120-e1bc-c880-471a-dafbbe398dc6
Grouping Titlevery typical family
Grouping Authorsierra godfrey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-19 17:40:19PM
Last Indexed2024-05-19 04:22:24AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Shalan, Gail
author
Godfrey, Sierra
author2-role
Shalan, Gail,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Godfrey, Sierra
available_at_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Franklin
Rancho Cordova
display_description
"A propulsive contemporary women's fiction debut with dark humor and messy yet warm-hearted family dynamics, perfect for fans of Claire Lombardo's The Most Fun We Ever Had and Emma Straub's All Adults Here. All families are messy. Some are disasters. Natalie Walker is the reason her older brother and sister went to prison over 15 years ago. She fled California shortly after that fateful night and hasn't spoken to anyone in her family since. Ten years later--on the same day her boyfriend steals her dream job out from under her--Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer saying her estranged mother has died and left the family's historic Santa Cruz house to her. Sort of. The only way for Natalie and her siblings to inherit is for all three adult children to come back and claim it--together. Natalie drives cross-country to Santa Cruz with her willful cat in tow expecting to sign some papers, see siblings Lynn and Jake briefly, and get back to sorting out her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning ornithologist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in New York City, shows up with a teenage son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake--meeting a very handsome marine biologist who immediately captures her heart--she unpacks the guilt she has held onto for so many years, wondering how-or if-she can salvage a relationship with her siblings after all this time. A Very Typical Family navigates the messy yet warm-hearted journey of a family struggling to find each other again. Written with delightfully dark humor and characters you can't help but cheer for, this debut from Sierra Godfrey will have you reveling in the power of family and second chances. No one can change the past, but every day is an opportunity to choose your future"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
31aba120-e1bc-c880-471a-dafbbe398dc6
isbn
9781728255200
9781728255224
9798212005289
9798212005302
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-19T11:22:24.621Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Godfrey, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Franklin
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn
9781728255200
publishDate
2022
2023
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Sourcebooks
Sourcebooks Inc
Sourcebooks Landmark
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
Estranged families -- Fiction
Fiction
Novels
title_display
A very typical family : a novel
title_full
A Very Typical Family : A Novel [electronic resource] / Sierra Godfrey
A Very Typical Family A Novel
A Very Typical Family [electronic resource] / Sierra Godfrey
A very typical family : a novel / Sierra Godfrey
title_short
A very typical family
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Electronic books
Estranged families
Fiction
Literature
Romance

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook6falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook19falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
hoopla:MWT15764986Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15764986?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b27204820.i87721752Rancho CordovaFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b27204820.i87721739Elk GroveFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b27204820.i87721740Fair OaksFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b27204820.i87783794Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
ils:.b27204820.i87721727CentralFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b27204820.i87721764FranklinFICTION Godfrey, S.1falsefalseDue May 11, 2024fraag
hoopla:MWT15261471Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15261471?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books11falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccbeBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2022
hoopla:MWT15764986eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBlackstone Publishing20231 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 20 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b27204820BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark[2022]341 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT15261471eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks Inc20221 online resource (352 pages)
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2022

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:78eb0908-38e5-4481-b107-aba47d1feccb-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT15764986Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b27204820.i87721752On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27204820.i87721739On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27204820.i87721740On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27204820.i87783794On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 69, 70, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b27204820.i87721727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b27204820.i87721764Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT15261471Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e9476637-fead-473c-8be0-f965aa6f2552-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse