We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Shadow war: A Tom Locke Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
NoveList Series:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller—the first volume in a blistering hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva. In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman's family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world's most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He is given one week to rescue an oligarch's family and pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn't know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication: Brad Winters. Locke's ambitious and enigmatic boss is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with several influential powerbrokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him—and Locke—everything.

While Locke has methodically planned the mission and hand-picked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off—and save his ass if things go south—he doesn't count on running into a former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives. Locke is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in pulling off the impossible. But all his brilliant preparation can't prevent the kind of backstabbing and deception that could lead to catastrophe . . . and tip the balance of power toward Putin's Russia.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062403704
9780062471918
9780062403728
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2f0bebbf-7597-7a17-dddd-018a724e03ec
Grouping Titleshadow war
Grouping Authorsean mcfate
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-28 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-05-27 03:03:55AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062403704

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Berkrot, Peter
Kafer, Jeffrey
Witter, Bret
authorMcFate, Sean
author2-roleBerkrot, Peter
Kafer, Jeffrey
Witter, Bret
hoopla digital
author_displayMcFate, Sean
available_at_catalogCentral
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
display_description

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller—the first volume in a blistering hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva. In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman's family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world's most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He is given one week to rescue an oligarch's family and pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn't know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication: Brad Winters. Locke's ambitious and enigmatic boss is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with several influential powerbrokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him—and Locke—everything.

While Locke has methodically planned the mission and hand-picked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off—and save his ass if things go south—he doesn't count on running into a former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives. Locke is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in pulling off the impossible. But all his brilliant preparation can't prevent the kind of backstabbing and deception that could lead to catastrophe . . . and tip the balance of power toward Putin's Russia.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id2f0bebbf-7597-7a17-dddd-018a724e03ec
isbn9780062403704
9780062403728
9780062471918
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:e5afd2bc-c3fa-44c3-8c1a-ad12b86dd85b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11665326Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11665326?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24151142.i73983378CentralFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24151142.i73983391SouthgateFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b24151142.i73983408North NatomasFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24151142.i73983433Belle CooledgeFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseDue Jun 9, 2022cooag
ils:.b24151142.i73946576North NatomasFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24151142.i74027840Pocket-GreenhavenFICTION McFate, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-27T10:03:55.873Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION McFate, S.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
North Natomas
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
primary_isbn9780062403704
publishDate2016
publisherHarperAudio,
HarperCollins
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:e5afd2bc-c3fa-44c3-8c1a-ad12b86dd85beBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2016
hoopla:MWT11665326eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20161 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 02 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b24151142BookBooksFirst editionEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2016]354 pages ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e5afd2bc-c3fa-44c3-8c1a-ad12b86dd85b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11665326Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24151142.i73983378On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24151142.i73983391On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24151142.i73983408On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24151142.i73983433Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24151142.i73946576On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24151142.i74027840On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
seriesTom Locke novels
series_with_volumeTom Locke novels|1
subject_facetAmericans -- Europe -- Fiction
Mercenary troops -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
United States -- Foreign relations -- Russia -- Fiction
War stories
title_displayShadow war
title_fullShadow War A Tom Locke Novel
Shadow War [electronic resource] / Sean McFate and Bret Witter
Shadow war / Sean McFate & Bret Witter
title_shortShadow war
title_subA Tom Locke Novel
topic_facetAmericans
Fiction
Foreign relations
Mercenary troops
Suspense
Thriller