We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

You play the girl: on Playboy bunnies, Stepford wives, train wrecks, and other mixed messages

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"Who is "the girl"? Look to movies, TV shows, magazines, and ads and the message is both clear and not: she is a sexed-up sidekick, a princess waiting to be saved, a morally infallible angel with no opinions of her own. She's whatever the hero needs her to be in order to become himself. She's an abstraction, an ideal, a standard, a mercurial phantom. In You Play the Girl, Chocano blends formative personal stories with insightful and emotionally powerful analysis. Moving from Bugs Bunny to Playboy Bunnies, Flashdance to Frozen, the progressive '70s through the backlash '80s, the glib '90s, and the pornified aughts--and at stops in between--she explains how growing up in the shadow of "the girl" taught her to think about herself and the world and what it means to raise a daughter in the face of these contorted reflections. In the tradition of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Susan Sontag, Chocano brilliantly shows that our identities are more fluid than we think, and certainly more complex than anything we see on any kind of screen."-- Back cover.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780544648944
9780544648968
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID27c4d9ec-b34a-0cc0-a16d-e299908c6ab2
Grouping Titleyou play the girl on playboy bunnies stepford wives train wrecks and other mixed messages
Grouping Authorcarina chocano
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-25 03:19:17AM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 02:43:58AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Chocano, Carina
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Chocano, Carina
available_at_catalog
Belle Cooledge
Franklin
detailed_location_catalog
Belle Cooledge
Franklin
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_description
"Who is "the girl"? Look to movies, TV shows, magazines, and ads and the message is both clear and not: she is a sexed-up sidekick, a princess waiting to be saved, a morally infallible angel with no opinions of her own. She's whatever the hero needs her to be in order to become himself. She's an abstraction, an ideal, a standard, a mercurial phantom. In You Play the Girl, Chocano blends formative personal stories with insightful and emotionally powerful analysis. Moving from Bugs Bunny to Playboy Bunnies, Flashdance to Frozen, the progressive '70s through the backlash '80s, the glib '90s, and the pornified aughts--and at stops in between--she explains how growing up in the shadow of "the girl" taught her to think about herself and the world and what it means to raise a daughter in the face of these contorted reflections. In the tradition of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Susan Sontag, Chocano brilliantly shows that our identities are more fluid than we think, and certainly more complex than anything we see on any kind of screen."-- Back cover.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
27c4d9ec-b34a-0cc0-a16d-e299908c6ab2
isbn
9780544648944
9780544648968
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T09:43:58.597Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
305.42 C545 2017
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Belle Cooledge
Franklin
primary_isbn
9780544648944
publishDate
2017
publisher
A Mariner Original/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Essays
Sex role
Sexism
Women -- Identity
Women -- Social conditions
Women in mass media
Women in popular culture
title_display
You play the girl : on Playboy bunnies, Stepford wives, train wrecks, and other mixed messages
title_full
You Play the Girl On Playboy Bunnies, Stepford Wives, Train Wrecks, & Other Mixed Messages
You play the girl : on Playboy bunnies, Stepford wives, train wrecks, and other mixed messages / Carina Chocano
You play the girl : on Playboy bunnies, Stepford wives, train wrecks, and other mixed messages [electronic resource] / Carina Chocano
title_short
You play the girl
title_sub
on Playboy bunnies, Stepford wives, train wrecks, and other mixed messages
topic_facet
Electronic books
Identity
Nonfiction
Sex role
Sexism
Social conditions
Sociology
Women
Women in mass media
Women in popular culture
Women's Studies

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24981060.i76822783Sacramento Public Library Storage305.42 C545 20171falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b24981060.i76822771Franklin305.42 C545 20171falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b24981060.i78344189Belle Cooledge305.42 C545 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
overdrive:ed92fe86-14f5-4ce5-8f28-8b4f06cd4dbc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13391475Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13391475?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24981060BookBooksEnglishA Mariner Original/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2017xxvi, 275 pages : illustration ; 21 cm
overdrive:ed92fe86-14f5-4ce5-8f28-8b4f06cd4dbceBookeBookEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt2017
hoopla:MWT13391475eBookeBookEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt20171 online resource

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24981060.i76822783On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24981060.i76822771On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24981060.i78344189On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:ed92fe86-14f5-4ce5-8f28-8b4f06cd4dbc-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13391475Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse