We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The tender bar: A Memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.
At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar—including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler—took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak—and eventually from reality.
In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780306828058
9780786281183
9780316290647
9781401300647
9781549195778
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID27862933-ea00-4b97-2439-398c938476d0
Grouping Titletender bar
Grouping Authorj r moehringer
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-01-28 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed2022-01-28 02:43:37AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMoehringer, J. R., 1964-
author_displayMoehringer, J. R
collection_catalogOn Order
detailed_location_catalogSacramento Public Library On Order
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description

In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.
At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar—including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler—took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak—and eventually from reality.
In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.
format_catalogBook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id27862933-ea00-4b97-2439-398c938476d0
isbn9780306828058
9780316290647
9780786281183
9781401300647
9781549195778
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b17374376.i48101709Valley Hi-North Laguna070.92 M693 20051falsefalseDue Feb 4, 2022valag
ils:.b17374376.o16841001Sacramento Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordercenag
ils:.b17374376.i48207238Folsom Adult070.92 MOE 20051falsefalseDue Feb 15, 2022fola
ils:.b17374376.i4861483xWoodland Public LibraryBIOGRAPHY Moehringer 20051falsefalseDue Feb 5, 2022wdpa
ils:.b17374376.o16841001Sacramento Public Library On OrderON ORDER5truefalseOn Ordersplag
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc85Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook8falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc83Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc84Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:1350fe31-a0b5-40c0-850c-a69146258abf-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books8falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b17665231.i49316503Woodland Public LibraryLARGE PRINT BIOGRAPHY Moehringer 20051falsefalseDue Jan 29, 2022wdpa
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Book Non-Fiction
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2022-01-28T10:43:37.071Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog070.92 M693 2005
ON ORDER
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780306828058
publishDate2005
2008
2017
publisherHachette Audio
Hachette Books
Hyperion,
Thorndike Press,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b17374376BookBooks1st edEnglishHyperionc2005370 p. ; 25 cm.
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8eBookeBookEnglishHachette Books2008
overdrive:1350fe31-a0b5-40c0-850c-a69146258abfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHachette Audio2017
ils:.b17665231Large PrintBooksEnglishThorndike Press2005752 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b17374376.i48101709Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b17374376.o16841001On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b17374376.i48207238Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b17374376.i4861483xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b17374376.o16841001On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:1350fe31-a0b5-40c0-850c-a69146258abf-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b17665231.i49316503Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
seriesThorndike Press large print biography
series_with_volumeThorndike Press large print biography|
subject_facetArizona -- Biography
Bars (Drinking establishments) -- Social aspects -- New York (State) -- Manhasset
Connecticut -- Biography
Journalists -- United States -- Biography
Large type books
Manhasset (N.Y.) -- Biography
Moehringer, J. R., -- 1964-
title_displayThe tender bar : a memoir
title_fullThe Tender Bar A Memoir
The tender bar : a memoir / J.R. Moehringer
The tender bar : a memoir / by J.R. Moehringer
title_shortThe tender bar
title_subA Memoir
topic_facetBars (Drinking establishments)
Biography & Autobiography
Family & Relationships
Journalists
Moehringer, J. R
Nonfiction
Social aspects