We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Busted: a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists—both middle-class working mothers—formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources—besides their own grit and tenacity—to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062085450
9780062085443
9780062383495
9780062085467
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID26815dae-b930-5169-ab37-c631c99766e3
Grouping Titlebusted a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
Grouping Authorwendy ruderman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-25 02:08:31AM
Last Indexed2022-05-25 02:59:30AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062085443

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Fulginiti, Rachel
Laker, Barbara
authorRuderman, Wendy
author2-roleFulginiti, Rachel,narrator
Laker, Barbara
Laker, Barbara,author
hoopla digital
author_displayRuderman, Wendy
available_at_catalogNorth Natomas
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogNorth Natomas
South Natomas
Southgate
display_description

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists—both middle-class working mothers—formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources—besides their own grit and tenacity—to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id26815dae-b930-5169-ab37-c631c99766e3
isbn9780062085443
9780062085450
9780062085467
9780062383495
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11917064Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11917064Available Online
hoopla:MWT11632413Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11632413?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b22764549.i69466798Southgate364.1323 R915 20141falsefalseOn Holdshelfsouag
ils:.b22764549.i69466816North Natomas364.1323 R915 20141falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b22764549.i69466828South Natomas364.1323 R915 20141falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-25T09:59:30.094Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog364.1323 R915 2014
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogNorth Natomas
South Natomas
Southgate
primary_isbn9780062085450
publishDate2014
publisherHarper Collins Publishers,
Harper,
HarperAudio
HarperAudio,
HarperCollins
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11917064eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers20141 online resource
hoopla:MWT11632413eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20141 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 56 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b22764549BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper[2014]242 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2014
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daaeBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11917064Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11632413Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22764549.i69466798Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22764549.i69466816On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22764549.i69466828On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Investigative reporting -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies
Laker, Barbara
Police corruption -- Press coverage -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies
Ruderman, Wendy
title_displayBusted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
title_fullBusted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love [electronic resource] / Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker
Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love / Wendy Ruderman, Barbara Laker
Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love [electronic resource] / Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker
Busted A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love
title_shortBusted
title_suba tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Electronic books
Investigative reporting
Laker, Barbara
Nonfiction
Police corruption
Press coverage
Ruderman, Wendy
Sociology
True Crime