We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Busted: a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists—both middle-class working mothers—formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources—besides their own grit and tenacity—to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest. 

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062085450
9780062085443
9780062383495
9780062085467
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID26815dae-b930-5169-ab37-c631c99766e3
Grouping Titlebusted a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
Grouping Authorwendy ruderman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-25 02:14:20AM
Last Indexed2024-05-24 02:40:35AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Fulginiti, Rachel
Laker, Barbara
author
Ruderman, Wendy
author2-role
Fulginiti, Rachel,reader
Laker, Barbara
hoopla digital
author_display
Ruderman, Wendy
available_at_catalog
Franklin
detailed_location_catalog
Franklin
display_description

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists—both middle-class working mothers—formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources—besides their own grit and tenacity—to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest. 

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
26815dae-b930-5169-ab37-c631c99766e3
isbn
9780062085443
9780062085450
9780062085467
9780062383495
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-24T09:40:35.182Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
364.1323 R915 2014
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Franklin
primary_isbn
9780062085450
publishDate
2014
publisher
Harper
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Autobiography
Biography
Investigative reporting -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies
Laker, Barbara
Organized crime
Police corruption -- Press coverage -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies
Ruderman, Wendy
Social sciences
Sociology
Sociology, Urban
True crime
title_display
Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
title_full
Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love / Wendy Ruderman, Barbara Laker
Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love [electronic resource] / Barbara Laker and Wendy Ruderman
Busted A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love
title_short
Busted
title_sub
a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
topic_facet
Autobiography
Biography
Biography & Autobiography
Investigative reporting
Laker, Barbara
Nonfiction
Organized crime
Police corruption
Press coverage
Ruderman, Wendy
Social sciences
Sociology
Sociology, Urban
True Crime
True crime

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11632413Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11632413?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b22764549.i69466798Franklin364.1323 R915 20141falsefalseOn Shelffraag
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11632413eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20141 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 55 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b22764549BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper[2014]242 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2014
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daaeBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2014

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11632413Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22764549.i69466798On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse