We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Confessions of Marie Antoinette: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Author:
NoveList Series:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.
 
Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.
 
Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.
Advance praise for Confessions of Marie Antoinette
 
“Juliet Grey brings her trilogy on Marie Antoinette’s life to a triumphant finale, depicting with sensitivity and compelling vividness the collapse of a bygone glamorous world and the courageous transformation of its ill-fated queen.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow
 
“A heartfelt journey with Marie Antoinette in her wrenching last days . . . We see the end looming that is still veiled from her eyes, and knowing her hopes are in vain makes it all the more poignant. Far from the ‘let them eat cake’ woman of legend, Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette reveals herself to be a person we can admire for her courage, her loyalty, and her love of her family and her adopted country, France.”—Margaret George
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780345523907
9780345523914

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID218d2bf1-079f-0128-2ac7-08877fae9279
Grouping Titleconfessions of marie antoinette
Grouping Authorjuliet grey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-25 02:45:35AM
Last Indexed2024-06-25 03:13:27AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Grey, Juliet
author_display
Grey, Juliet
available_at_catalog
Fair Oaks
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
display_description
A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.
 
Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.
 
Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.
Advance praise for Confessions of Marie Antoinette
 
“Juliet Grey brings her trilogy on Marie Antoinette’s life to a triumphant finale, depicting with sensitivity and compelling vividness the collapse of a bygone glamorous world and the courageous transformation of its ill-fated queen.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow
 
“A heartfelt journey with Marie Antoinette in her wrenching last days . . . We see the end looming that is still veiled from her eyes, and knowing her hopes are in vain makes it all the more poignant. Far from the ‘let them eat cake’ woman of legend, Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette reveals herself to be a person we can admire for her courage, her loyalty, and her love of her family and her adopted country, France.”—Margaret George
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
218d2bf1-079f-0128-2ac7-08877fae9279
isbn
9780345523907
9780345523914
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-06-25T10:13:27.996Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Grey, J.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
Pocket-Greenhaven
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780345523907
publishDate
2013
publisher
Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Marie Antoinette trilogy
series_with_volume
Marie Antoinette trilogy|3
subject_facet
Biographical fiction
France -- History -- Louis XVI, 1774-1793 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Marie Antoinette, -- Queen, consort of Louis XVI, King of France, -- 1755-1793 -- Fiction
Queens -- France -- Fiction
title_display
Confessions of Marie Antoinette : a novel
title_full
Confessions of Marie Antoinette : a novel / Juliet Grey
Confessions of Marie Antoinette A Novel
title_short
Confessions of Marie Antoinette
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Marie Antoinette
Queens
Romance

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b2232995x.i86625743CentralFICTION Grey, J.1falsefalseDue Jul 6, 2024cenag
ils:.b2232995x.i86625767SouthgateFICTION Grey, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b2232995x.i86625755Pocket-GreenhavenFICTION Grey, J.1falsefalseDue Jun 26, 2024pocag
ils:.b2232995x.i68569105Fair OaksFICTION Grey, J.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:.b2232995xBookBooksEnglishBallantine Books Trade Paperbacks[2013]445 pages ; 21 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2232995x.i86625743Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2232995x.i86625767On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2232995x.i86625755Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2232995x.i68569105On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011