Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Confessions of Marie Antoinette: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.  Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.   Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.Advance praise for Confessions of Marie Antoinette   “Juliet Grey brings her trilogy on Marie Antoinette’s life to a triumphant finale, depicting with sensitivity and compelling vividness the collapse of a bygone glamorous world and the courageous transformation of its ill-fated queen.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow   “A heartfelt journey with Marie Antoinette in her wrenching last days . . . We see the end looming that is still veiled from her eyes, and knowing her hopes are in vain makes it all the more poignant. Far from the ‘let them eat cake’ woman of legend, Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette reveals herself to be a person we can admire for her courage, her loyalty, and her love of her family and her adopted country, France.”—Margaret George   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345523907
9780345523914
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID218d2bf1-079f-0128-2ac7-08877fae9279
Grouping Titleconfessions of marie antoinette
Grouping Authorjuliet grey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-27 02:28:01AM
Last Indexed2021-02-27 04:06:45AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJuliet Grey
author_displayGrey, Juliet
available_at_catalogFair Oaks
detailed_location_catalogFair Oaks
display_descriptionA novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.
 
Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.
 
Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.
Advance praise for Confessions of Marie Antoinette
 
“Juliet Grey brings her trilogy on Marie Antoinette’s life to a triumphant finale, depicting with sensitivity and compelling vividness the collapse of a bygone glamorous world and the courageous transformation of its ill-fated queen.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow
 
“A heartfelt journey with Marie Antoinette in her wrenching last days . . . We see the end looming that is still veiled from her eyes, and knowing her hopes are in vain makes it all the more poignant. Far from the ‘let them eat cake’ woman of legend, Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette reveals herself to be a person we can admire for her courage, her loyalty, and her love of her family and her adopted country, France.”—Margaret George
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id218d2bf1-079f-0128-2ac7-08877fae9279
isbn9780345523907
9780345523914
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b2232995x.i68569105Fair OaksFICTION Grey, J.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-27T12:06:45.352Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Grey, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogFair Oaks
primary_isbn9780345523907
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:.b2232995xBookBooksEnglishBallantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2013]445 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c91e77ee-ec66-419e-a59c-bb725397f2a4-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2232995x.i68569105On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
seriesMarie Antoinette Trilogy
series_with_volumeMarie Antoinette Trilogy|
subject_facetBiographical fiction
France -- History -- Louis XVI, 1774-1793 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Marie Antoinette, -- Queen, consort of Louis XVI, King of France, -- 1755-1793 -- Fiction
Queens -- France -- Fiction
title_displayConfessions of Marie Antoinette : a novel
title_fullConfessions of Marie Antoinette : a novel / Juliet Grey
Confessions of Marie Antoinette Marie Antoinette Trilogy, Book 3
title_shortConfessions of Marie Antoinette
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
History
Marie Antoinette
Queens