Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

An affair to dismember: Matchmaker Mysteries Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance. Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy. When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?Praise for An Affair to Dismember "Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain."—RT Book Reviews "Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie."—Booklist"Elise Sax will win your heart."—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis "In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride."—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind "What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more."—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There's Cake in My FutureFrom the Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345532220
9780345532237
9781977311788
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1af1af3a-0751-0c27-cb6e-a5e2c4bb0989
Grouping Titleaffair to dismember
Grouping Authorelise sax
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-21 02:28:23AM
Last Indexed2020-10-21 02:48:14AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780345532220

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorElise Sax
author_displaySax, Elise
available_at_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
display_descriptionCertain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?
Praise for An Affair to Dismember

"Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain."—RT Book Reviews

"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie."—Booklist
"Elise Sax will win your heart."—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

"In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride."—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

"What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more."—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There's Cake in My Future
From the Paperback edition.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id1af1af3a-0751-0c27-cb6e-a5e2c4bb0989
isbn9780345532220
9780345532237
9781977311788
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccb-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b22058102.i6712608xFair OaksFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b22058102.i67126030CentralFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-21T09:48:14.802Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Sax, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Fair Oaks
primary_isbn9780345532220
publishDate2013
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccbeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2018
ils:.b22058102BookBooksBallantine mass market ed.EnglishBallantine Books, 2013.312 p. ; 18 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccb-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22058102.i6712608xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22058102.i67126030On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
seriesMatchmaker mysteries
series_with_volumeMatchmaker mysteries|1
subject_facetDating services -- Fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
title_displayAn affair to dismember
title_fullAn Affair to Dismember
An Affair to Dismember Matchmaker Mysteries Series, Book 1
An affair to dismember / Elise Sax
title_shortAn affair to dismember
title_subMatchmaker Mysteries Series, Book 1
topic_facetDating services
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Mystery
Romance