We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

An affair to dismember

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?
Praise for An Affair to Dismember

"Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain."—RT Book Reviews

"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie."—Booklist
"Elise Sax will win your heart."—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

"In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride."—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

"What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more."—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There's Cake in My Future
From the Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345532220
9780345532237
9781977311788
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1af1af3a-0751-0c27-cb6e-a5e2c4bb0989
Grouping Titleaffair to dismember
Grouping Authorelise sax
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-04-16 02:11:58AM
Last Indexed2024-04-16 02:24:35AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Bentley, Stephanie
author
Sax, Elise
author2-role
Bentley, Stephanie,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Sax, Elise
available_at_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
display_description
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?
Praise for An Affair to Dismember

"Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain."—RT Book Reviews

"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie."—Booklist
"Elise Sax will win your heart."—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

"In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride."—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

"What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more."—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There's Cake in My Future
From the Paperback edition.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
1af1af3a-0751-0c27-cb6e-a5e2c4bb0989
isbn
9780345532220
9780345532237
9781977311788
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-04-16T09:24:35.469Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Sax, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Fair Oaks
primary_isbn
9780345532220
publishDate
2013
2018
publisher
Ballantine Books
Random House Publishing Group
Tantor Media, Inc
Tantor Media, Inc.
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Matchmaker mysteries (Elise Sax)
series_with_volume
Matchmaker mysteries (Elise Sax)|1
subject_facet
Dating services -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_display
An affair to dismember
title_full
An Affair to Dismember
An Affair to Dismember [electronic resource] / Elise Sax
An affair to dismember / Elise Sax
title_short
An affair to dismember
topic_facet
Dating services
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Mystery
Romance
Women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12249329Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12249329?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccb-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b22058102.i6712608xFair OaksFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b22058102.i67126030CentralFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
hoopla:MWT12249329eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20181 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 08 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccbeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc2018
ils:.b22058102BookBooksBallantine mass market edEnglishBallantine Books2013312 p. ; 18 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:cb56db6c-630d-4151-a980-e02f5c394334-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12249329Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:cd24fc5c-ca1f-4978-8992-11ccb4893ccb-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22058102.i6712608xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22058102.i67126030On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011