We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Open heart: a cardiac surgeon's stories of life and death on the operating table

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In gripping prose, one of the world's leading cardiac surgeons lays bare both the wonder and the horror of a life spent a heartbeat away from death
When Stephen Westaby witnessed a patient die on the table during open-heart surgery for the first time, he was struck by the quiet, determined way the surgeons walked away. As he soon understood, this detachment is a crucial survival strategy in a profession where death is only a heartbeat away. In Open Heart, Westaby reflects on over 11,000 surgeries, showing us why the procedures have never become routine and will never be. With astonishing compassion, he recounts harrowing and sometimes hopeful stories from his operating room: we meet a pulseless man who lives with an electric heart pump, an expecting mother who refuses surgery unless the doctors let her pregnancy reach full term, and a baby who gets a heart transplant-only to die once it's in place.
For readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal and of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Open Heart offers a soul-baring account of a life spent in constant confrontation with death.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780465094837
9781478920267
9781541698093
9780465094844
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID18734296-8aac-136c-9625-407fa54cce2f
Grouping Titleopen heart a cardiac surgeons stories of life and death on the operating table
Grouping Authorstephen westaby
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-03-03 03:26:12AM
Last Indexed2024-03-03 03:59:33AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Griffin, Gordon
author
Westaby, Stephen
author2-role
Griffin, Gordon,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Westaby, Stephen
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
display_description
In gripping prose, one of the world's leading cardiac surgeons lays bare both the wonder and the horror of a life spent a heartbeat away from death
When Stephen Westaby witnessed a patient die on the table during open-heart surgery for the first time, he was struck by the quiet, determined way the surgeons walked away. As he soon understood, this detachment is a crucial survival strategy in a profession where death is only a heartbeat away. In Open Heart, Westaby reflects on over 11,000 surgeries, showing us why the procedures have never become routine and will never be. With astonishing compassion, he recounts harrowing and sometimes hopeful stories from his operating room: we meet a pulseless man who lives with an electric heart pump, an expecting mother who refuses surgery unless the doctors let her pregnancy reach full term, and a baby who gets a heart transplant-only to die once it's in place.
For readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal and of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Open Heart offers a soul-baring account of a life spent in constant confrontation with death.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
18734296-8aac-136c-9625-407fa54cce2f
isbn
9780465094837
9780465094844
9781478920267
9781541698093
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-03-03T11:59:33.695Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
617.412 W522 2017
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Pocket-Greenhaven
primary_isbn
9780465094837
publishDate
2017
publisher
Basic Books
Hachette Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Clinical medicine
Electronic books
Heart -- Surgery -- Anecdotes
Heart surgeons -- United States -- Biography
Physician and patient
Westaby, Stephen
title_display
Open heart : a cardiac surgeon's stories of life and death on the operating table
title_full
Open Heart : A Cardiac Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table [electronic resource] / Stephen Westaby
Open Heart A Cardiac Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table
Open heart : a cardiac surgeon's stories of life and death on the operating table / Stephen Westaby
title_short
Open heart
title_sub
a cardiac surgeon's stories of life and death on the operating table
topic_facet
Clinical medicine
Electronic books
Heart
Heart surgeons
Medical
Nonfiction
Physician and patient
Surgery
Westaby, Stephen

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b2489056x.i76225355Pocket-Greenhaven617.412 W522 20171falsefalseOn Shelfpocag
ils:.b2489056x.i7622532xCentral617.412 W522 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b2489056x.i76225343Elk Grove617.412 W522 20171falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b2489056x.i76225331Carmichael617.412 W522 20171falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
hoopla:MWT15982467Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12528160?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:f4916aad-e43f-430c-99d2-157bfad0eff1-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT15999857Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15999857?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:b7d84672-5c71-4284-beef-05c62282cfb0-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b2489056xBookBooksEnglishBasic Books[2017]x, 287 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
hoopla:MWT15982467eBookeBookEnglishBasic Books20171 online resource (304 pages)
overdrive:f4916aad-e43f-430c-99d2-157bfad0eff1eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHachette Audio2017
hoopla:MWT15999857eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHachette Audio20171 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:b7d84672-5c71-4284-beef-05c62282cfb0eBookeBookEnglishBasic Books2017

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2489056x.i76225355On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2489056x.i7622532xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2489056x.i76225343On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2489056x.i76225331On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT15982467Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f4916aad-e43f-430c-99d2-157bfad0eff1-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT15999857Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:b7d84672-5c71-4284-beef-05c62282cfb0-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse