We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The garden of happy endings: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.
 
After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.
 
Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.
 
But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553386783
9780345534460
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID15438c10-945e-a3e9-ad91-55102bda2f9b
Grouping Titlegarden of happy endings
Grouping Authorbarbara oneal
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-17 02:08:20AM
Last Indexed2022-08-17 02:43:34AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
O'Neal, Barbara, 1959-
author_display
O'Neal, Barbara
available_at_catalog
Franklin
detailed_location_catalog
Franklin
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_description
From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.
 
After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.
 
Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.
 
But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
15438c10-945e-a3e9-ad91-55102bda2f9b
isbn
9780345534460
9780553386783
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-17T09:43:34.933Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION O'Neal, B.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Franklin
primary_isbn
9780553386783
publishDate
2012
publisher
Bantam Books Trade Paperbacks
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Clergy -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_display
The garden of happy endings : a novel
title_full
The Garden of Happy Endings A Novel
The garden of happy endings : a novel / Barbara O'Neal
title_short
The garden of happy endings
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Clergy
Fiction
Literature
Romance
Sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b2105714x.i65961869FranklinFICTION O'Neal, B.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b2105714x.i65961882Sacramento Public Library StorageFICTION O'Neal, B.1falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b2105714xBookBooksEnglishBantam Books Trade Paperbacks2012398 p. ; 20 cm.
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2105714x.i65961869On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2105714x.i65961882On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse