Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The garden of happy endings: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description
From Barbara O'Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.

After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.

Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.

But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553386783
9780345534460
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID15438c10-945e-a3e9-ad91-55102bda2f9b
Grouping Titlegarden of happy endings
Grouping Authorbarbara oneal
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-17 02:30:10AM
Last Indexed2021-09-17 03:11:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553386783

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorO'Neal, Barbara, 1959-
author_displayO'Neal, Barbara
available_at_catalogFair Oaks
detailed_location_catalogFair Oaks
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_descriptionFrom Barbara O'Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.

After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.

Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.

But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id15438c10-945e-a3e9-ad91-55102bda2f9b
isbn9780345534460
9780553386783
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b2105714x.i65961869Fair OaksFICTION O'Neal, B.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b2105714x.i65961882Sacramento Public Library StorageFICTION O'Neal, B.1falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-09-17T10:11:12.298Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION O'Neal, B.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogFair Oaks
primary_isbn9780553386783
publishDate2012
publisherBantam Books Trade Paperbacks,
Random House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b2105714xBookBooksEnglishBantam Books Trade Paperbacks, 2012.398 p. ; 20 cm.
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2105714x.i65961869On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b2105714x.i65961882On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:80a451e1-0516-4fee-8d94-03cf6036f9b6-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetClergy -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayThe garden of happy endings : a novel
title_fullThe Garden of Happy Endings A Novel
The garden of happy endings : a novel / Barbara O'Neal
title_shortThe garden of happy endings
title_suba novel
topic_facetClergy
Fiction
Romance
Sisters