We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Love game

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's wickedly funny Matchmaker series proves that the road to love comes with a few dead ends.
Five months have passed since Gladie Burger came to Cannes, California, to join her eccentric Grandma Zelda in the family matchmaking business, and Gladie is quickly mastering the rules of attraction. Her latest fix-up is still going strong and Gladie's bank account is back in the black—until a rival matchmaker arrives in town and has both Gladie and Zelda seeing red.
Not only is self-proclaimed psychic Luanda Laughing-Eagle stealing Grandma Zelda's clients, but Zelda is convinced that Luanda's ESP is total BS. She tasks Gladie with exposing Luanda as a fraud, but Gladie's attention is diverted when murder comes a-calling. Spencer Bolton, the gorgeous chief of police and Gladie's on-again, off-again flame, wants her to stay out of the investigation—and away from the deliciously chiseled detective who also aims to win Gladie's heart. But the one thing Gladie's learned is that in business, love and murder . . . it's always personal.
Praise for Elise Sax and Love Game

"Elise Sax will win your heart."New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

"There's plenty for fans to enjoy in Sax's third Matchmaker installment, complete with energetic narration, zany humor and a mystery that's as engaging as the details of Gladie's love life. . . . There are some exciting twists and turns here, from the explosive opening (literally) to the final surprise that will keep expectations high for future installments."RT Book Reviews

"Filled with fun, sexiness and characters who are not afraid to go after the things they want in life . . . It's not often I read something so full of irony and sarcasm, but that also has that special brand of humor that makes me chuckle while I'm reading."Unconventional Book Reviews

"Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out."—Christie Craig, New York Times bestselling author of Texas Hold 'Em

"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAlister, and Jennifer Crusie."Booklist, on An Affair to Dismember
From the Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345532268
9780345532275
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0cd5b136-68dd-ae7c-aee7-cbf93c6a063c
Grouping Titlelove game
Grouping Authorelise sax
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-29 03:24:26AM
Last Indexed2023-01-29 04:06:31AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Sax, Elise
author_display
Sax, Elise
available_at_catalog
North Natomas
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
North Natomas
Southgate
display_description
Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's wickedly funny Matchmaker series proves that the road to love comes with a few dead ends.
Five months have passed since Gladie Burger came to Cannes, California, to join her eccentric Grandma Zelda in the family matchmaking business, and Gladie is quickly mastering the rules of attraction. Her latest fix-up is still going strong and Gladie's bank account is back in the black—until a rival matchmaker arrives in town and has both Gladie and Zelda seeing red.
Not only is self-proclaimed psychic Luanda Laughing-Eagle stealing Grandma Zelda's clients, but Zelda is convinced that Luanda's ESP is total BS. She tasks Gladie with exposing Luanda as a fraud, but Gladie's attention is diverted when murder comes a-calling. Spencer Bolton, the gorgeous chief of police and Gladie's on-again, off-again flame, wants her to stay out of the investigation—and away from the deliciously chiseled detective who also aims to win Gladie's heart. But the one thing Gladie's learned is that in business, love and murder . . . it's always personal.
Praise for Elise Sax and Love Game

"Elise Sax will win your heart."New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

"There's plenty for fans to enjoy in Sax's third Matchmaker installment, complete with energetic narration, zany humor and a mystery that's as engaging as the details of Gladie's love life. . . . There are some exciting twists and turns here, from the explosive opening (literally) to the final surprise that will keep expectations high for future installments."RT Book Reviews

"Filled with fun, sexiness and characters who are not afraid to go after the things they want in life . . . It's not often I read something so full of irony and sarcasm, but that also has that special brand of humor that makes me chuckle while I'm reading."Unconventional Book Reviews

"Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out."—Christie Craig, New York Times bestselling author of Texas Hold 'Em

"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAlister, and Jennifer Crusie."Booklist, on An Affair to Dismember
From the Paperback edition.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
0cd5b136-68dd-ae7c-aee7-cbf93c6a063c
isbn
9780345532268
9780345532275
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2023-01-29T12:06:31.148Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Sax, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
North Natomas
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780345532268
publishDate
2014
publisher
Ballantine Books
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Matchmaker mysteries (Elise Sax)
series_with_volume
Matchmaker mysteries (Elise Sax)|3
subject_facet
Dating services -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction
title_display
Love game
title_full
Love Game
Love game / Elise Sax
title_short
Love game
topic_facet
Dating services
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Romance
Triangles (Interpersonal relations)

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:6f95d9c7-6a57-4850-b838-d22d37bbf017-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b22732329.i69431061SouthgateFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b22732329.i6943105xNorth NatomasFICTION Sax, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:6f95d9c7-6a57-4850-b838-d22d37bbf017eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
ils:.b22732329BookBooksBallantine mass market editionEnglishBallantine Books2014297 pages ; 18 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6f95d9c7-6a57-4850-b838-d22d37bbf017-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22732329.i69431061On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22732329.i6943105xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011