Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: stories inspired by the Holmes canon

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canonIn this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Leslie Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives inspired by Holmes' adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories, some entries do fit that mold while others were inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as listeners new to Doyle's writing.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0bcda3e0-1b58-a4b5-6fd6-fb546a814928
Grouping Titleechoes of sherlock holmes stories inspired by the holmes canon
Grouping Authorlaurie r king
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-16 03:30:03AM
Last Indexed2021-05-16 04:01:01AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Alexander, Tasha, 1969-
Cameron, Dana.
Connolly, John, 1968-
Ephron, Hallie.
Gardiner, Meg.
King, Laurie R.,
Klinger, Leslie S,
Klinger, Leslie S.,
Lee, Tony, 1970-
Morrell, David, 1943-
Perry, Anne.
Ryan, Hank Phillippi.
Scott, Michael, 1959-
authorLaurie R. King
author2-roleAlexander, Tasha,1969-Before a bohemian scandal.
Cameron, Dana.Where there is honey.
Connolly, John,1968-Holmes on the range.
Ephron, Hallie.Understudy in scarlet.
Gardiner, Meg.Irregular.
King, Laurie R.,editor,narrator.
King, Laurie R.,editor.
Klinger, Leslie S,editor.
Klinger, Leslie S.,editor,narrator.
Lee, Tony,1970-Mrs. Hudson investigates.
Morrell, David,1943-Spiritualist.
Perry, Anne.Raffa.
Ryan, Hank Phillippi.Adventure of the dancing women.
Scott, Michael,1959-Crown jewel affair.
hoopla digital.
author_display
available_at_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
South Natomas
display_descriptionA brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canonIn this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Leslie Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.To the editors' great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives inspired by Holmes' adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories, some entries do fit that mold while others were inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as listeners new to Doyle's writing.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id0bcda3e0-1b58-a4b5-6fd6-fb546a814928
isbn9781504766234
9781681772257
9781982500757
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b24361859.i74737776McKinleyMYSTERY Echoes1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b24361859.i7473779xNorth Highlands-AntelopeMYSTERY Echoes1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b24361859.i74737818Arden-DimickMYSTERY Echoes1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b24361859.i74737788Belle CooledgeMYSTERY Echoes1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b24361859.i74737806South NatomasMYSTERY Echoes1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
overdrive:35e2d430-078e-420e-a2c9-b3c541843350-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11723277Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11723277?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-05-16T11:01:01.957Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalogMYSTERY Echoes
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArden-Dimick
Belle Cooledge
McKinley
North Highlands-Antelope
South Natomas
primary_isbn9781681772257
publishDate2016
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24361859BookBooksFirst Pegasus Books cloth edition.EnglishPegasus Crime, 2016.xiii, 348 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
overdrive:35e2d430-078e-420e-a2c9-b3c541843350eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2016
hoopla:MWT11723277eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 29 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24361859.i74737776On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24361859.i7473779xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24361859.i74737818On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24361859.i74737788On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24361859.i74737806On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:35e2d430-078e-420e-a2c9-b3c541843350-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11723277Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesStories Inspired by the Holmes Canon
series_with_volumeStories Inspired by the Holmes Canon|
subject_facetDetective and mystery stories, American
Detective and mystery stories, English
Holmes, Sherlock -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Short stories
Short stories, American
Short stories, English
title_displayEchoes of Sherlock Holmes : stories inspired by the Holmes canon
title_fullEchoes of Sherlock Holmes : stories inspired by the Holmes canon / edited by Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes : stories inspired by the Holmes canon [electronic resource]
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon
title_shortEchoes of Sherlock Holmes
title_substories inspired by the Holmes canon
topic_facetDetective and mystery stories, American
Detective and mystery stories, English
Fiction
Holmes, Sherlock
Mystery
Short Stories
Short stories, American
Short stories, English