We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Forged: writing in the name of God : why the Bible's authors are not who we think they are

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted and God's Problem reveals which books in the Bible's New Testament were not passed down by Jesus's disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrman's Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062012616
9780062027481
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID07140201-d2c8-c535-4fee-3f0de3fb0059
Grouping Titleforged writing in the name of god why the bibles authors are not who we think they are
Grouping Authorbart d ehrman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-29 02:11:58AM
Last Indexed2024-02-29 02:25:42AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Ehrman, Bart D.
author_display
Ehrman, Bart D.
detailed_location_catalog
McKinley
display_description

Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted and God's Problem reveals which books in the Bible's New Testament were not passed down by Jesus's disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrman's Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
07140201-d2c8-c535-4fee-3f0de3fb0059
isbn
9780062012616
9780062027481
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-02-29T10:25:42.819Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
225.1 E33 2011
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
McKinley
primary_isbn
9780062012616
publishDate
2011
publisher
HarperAudio
HarperOne
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Bible. -- New Testament -- Authorship
Bible. -- New Testament -- Controversial literature
Bible. -- New Testament -- Criticism, interpretation, etc
Bible. -- New Testament -- Evidences, authority, etc
title_display
Forged : writing in the name of God : why the Bible's authors are not who we think they are
title_full
Forged : writing in the name of God : why the Bible's authors are not who we think they are / Bart D. Ehrman
Forged Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are
title_short
Forged
title_sub
writing in the name of God : why the Bible's authors are not who we think they are
topic_facet
Authorship
Controversial literature
Criticism, interpretation, etc
Evidences, authority, etc
Nonfiction
Religion & Spirituality

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b20525485.i64521333McKinley225.1 E33 20111falsefalseDue Mar 12, 2024mckag
overdrive:f57d8b74-6abf-4c30-ad93-621a660cced6-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b20525485BookBooks1st edEnglishHarperOnec2011x, 307 p. ; 24 cm.
overdrive:f57d8b74-6abf-4c30-ad93-621a660cced6eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2011

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20525485.i64521333Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:f57d8b74-6abf-4c30-ad93-621a660cced6-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse