Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The chain: farm, factory, and the fate of our food

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality. In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point. Along the way, he exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant labor.

The narrative moves across the heartland—from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows in reaction to the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062288752
9780062288776
9781494527082
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID067e4029-0892-044c-7a28-f134195ef629
Grouping Titlechain farm factory and the fate of our food
Grouping Authorted genoways
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-17 02:27:13AM
Last Indexed2021-05-17 02:54:53AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781494507084

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Kramer, Michael (Narrator),
authorGenoways, Ted,
author2-roleKramer, Michael(Narrator),narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayGenoways, Ted
available_at_catalogBelle Cooledge
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
display_description

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality. In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point. Along the way, he exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant labor.

The narrative moves across the heartland—from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows in reaction to the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id067e4029-0892-044c-7a28-f134195ef629
isbn9780062288752
9780062288776
9781494527082
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11225466Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11225466?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b23077396.i70840052Central338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23077396.i70840088McKinley338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b23077396.i7304717xBelle Cooledge338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b23077396.i70840106Carmichael338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
hoopla:MWT12389095Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12389095?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-05-17T09:54:53.979Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog338.7664 G335 2014
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
primary_isbn9780062288752
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11225466eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2014.1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 29 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583eBookeBookEnglishHarper2014
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2014
ils:.b23077396BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014]xiv, 305 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT12389095eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2014.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11225466Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23077396.i70840052On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23077396.i70840088On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23077396.i7304717xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23077396.i70840106On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT12389095Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Factory farms
Food processing plants -- United States
Hormel Foods Corporation
Industrial safety
Meat industry and trade -- United States
title_displayThe chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food
title_fullThe Chain Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food
The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food / Ted Genoways
The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food [electronic resource] / Ted Genoways
title_shortThe chain
title_subfarm, factory, and the fate of our food
topic_facetBusiness
Economics
Electronic books
Factory farms
Food processing plants
Industrial safety
Meat industry and trade
Nonfiction
Sociology