We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The chain: farm, factory, and the fate of our food

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A powerful and important work of investigative journalism that explores the runaway growth of the American meatpacking industry and its dangerous consequences

"A worthy update to Upton Sinclair's The Jungle and a chilling indicator of how little has changed since that 1906 muckraking classic." — Mother Jones

"I tore through this book. . . . Books like these are important: They track the journey of our thinking about food, adding evidence and offering guidance along the way." —Wall Street Journal

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality.

In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, from Minnesota to Iowa to Nebraska. Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point—while exposing alarming new trends, from sick or permanently disabled workers to conflict between small towns and immigrant labor. A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062288752
9780062288776
9781494527082
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID067e4029-0892-044c-7a28-f134195ef629
Grouping Titlechain farm factory and the fate of our food
Grouping Authorted genoways
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 02:08:34AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 02:50:02AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Kramer, Michael (Narrator)
author
Genoways, Ted
author2-role
Kramer, Michael(Narrator),narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Genoways, Ted
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
display_description

A powerful and important work of investigative journalism that explores the runaway growth of the American meatpacking industry and its dangerous consequences

"A worthy update to Upton Sinclair's The Jungle and a chilling indicator of how little has changed since that 1906 muckraking classic." — Mother Jones

"I tore through this book. . . . Books like these are important: They track the journey of our thinking about food, adding evidence and offering guidance along the way." —Wall Street Journal

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality.

In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, from Minnesota to Iowa to Nebraska. Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point—while exposing alarming new trends, from sick or permanently disabled workers to conflict between small towns and immigrant labor. A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
067e4029-0892-044c-7a28-f134195ef629
isbn
9780062288752
9780062288776
9781494527082
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-08-08T09:50:02.724Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
338.7664 G335 2014
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
McKinley
primary_isbn
9780062288752
publishDate
2014
publisher
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
Tantor Media, Inc
Tantor Media, Inc.
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Factory farms
Food processing plants -- United States
Hormel Foods Corporation
Industrial safety
Meat industry and trade -- United States
title_display
The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food
title_full
The Chain Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food
The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food / Ted Genoways
The chain : farm, factory, and the fate of our food [electronic resource] / Ted Genoways
title_short
The chain
title_sub
farm, factory, and the fate of our food
topic_facet
Business
Economics
Electronic books
Factory farms
Food processing plants
Industrial safety
Meat industry and trade
Nonfiction
Sociology

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT11225466Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11225466?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b23077396.i70840052Central338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23077396.i70840106Carmichael338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b23077396.i70840088McKinley338.7664 G335 20141falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
hoopla:MWT12389095Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12389095?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11225466eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20141 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 29 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2014
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc2014
ils:.b23077396BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers[2014]xiv, 305 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT12389095eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20141 online resource

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11225466Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:2d21f3ce-5b94-4035-894f-5718d3465583-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:088d7e20-5c38-4bae-bab4-2ff620927785-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23077396.i70840052On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23077396.i70840106On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23077396.i70840088On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT12389095Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse