Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The lost letter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"A gorgeous and thrilling novel... Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale."PopSugar
A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.
Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.


Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.
Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780399185670
9781524776954
9780399185694
9781432841591
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
Grouping Titlelost letter
Grouping Authorjillian cantor
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-13 03:31:49AM
Last Indexed2021-06-13 03:59:17AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780399185670

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJillian Cantor
author_displayCantor, Jillian
available_at_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Central
Rancho Cordova
Sylvan Oaks
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Central
Rancho Cordova
Sylvan Oaks
display_description"A gorgeous and thrilling novel... Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale."PopSugar
A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.
Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.


Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.
Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
format_catalogBook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
isbn9780399185670
9780399185694
9781432841591
9781524776954
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b26772401.i84425271Sutter County Main BranchLARGE PRINT FICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Jun 17, 2021suta
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24814994.i76179382Sylvan OaksFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
ils:.b24814994.i76179394Rancho CordovaFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b24814994.i8442526xSutter County Main BranchFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b24814994.i76179400Arden-DimickFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b24814994.i76192325Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfwdpa
ils:.b24814994.i76179412ArcadeFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b24814994.i76179369Arden-DimickFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b24814994.i76171012Folsom AdultFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b24814994.i76179370CentralFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2021-06-13T10:59:17.334Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Cantor, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Central
Rancho Cordova
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn9780399185670
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b26772401Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishWheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2017.443 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2017
ils:.b24814994BookBooksEnglishRiverhead Books, 2017.322 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260beeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26772401.i84425271Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24814994.i76179382On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76179394On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i8442526xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24814994.i76179400On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76192325On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b24814994.i76179412On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76179369On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76171012On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24814994.i76179370On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesWheeler large print hardcover
series_with_volumeWheeler large print hardcover|
subject_facetAustria -- History -- 1938-1945 -- Fiction
FICTION -- Historical
Historical fiction
Large type books
Love stories
Romance fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Underground movements -- Austria -- Fiction
title_displayThe lost letter
title_fullThe Lost Letter A Novel
The lost letter / Jillian Cantor
title_shortThe lost letter
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFICTION
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Large type books
Literature
Underground movements
World War, 1939-1945