We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The lost letter

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
“A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.”PopSugar

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.

 
Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
 
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780399185670
9781524776954
9780399185694
9781432841591
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
Grouping Titlelost letter
Grouping Authorjillian cantor
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-06-30 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed2022-06-30 02:39:25AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Cantor, Jillian
author_display
Cantor, Jillian
available_at_catalog
Arden-Dimick
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
display_description
“A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.”PopSugar

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.

 
Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
 
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
format_catalog
Book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
isbn
9780399185670
9780399185694
9781432841591
9781524776954
itype_catalog
Adu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-06-30T09:39:25.328Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Cantor, J.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Central
North Natomas
North Sacramento-Hagginwood
Rancho Cordova
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780399185670
publishDate
2017
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Riverhead Books
Wheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Wheeler large print hardcover
series_with_volume
Wheeler large print hardcover|
subject_facet
Austria -- History -- 1938-1945 -- Fiction
FICTION -- Historical
Historical fiction
Large type books
Love stories
Romance fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Underground movements -- Austria -- Fiction
title_display
The lost letter
title_full
The Lost Letter A Novel
The lost letter / Jillian Cantor
title_short
The lost letter
topic_facet
FICTION
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Large type books
Literature
Underground movements
World War, 1939-1945

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b26772401.i84425271Sutter County Main BranchLARGE PRINT FICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24814994.i76171012Folsom AdultFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Jul 8, 2022fola
ils:.b24814994.i76179369North NatomasFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24814994.i76179382North Sacramento-HagginwoodFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfnsaag
ils:.b24814994.i76179412SouthgateFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b24814994.i76179394Rancho CordovaFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b24814994.i8442526xSutter County Main BranchFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b24814994.i76179400Arden-DimickFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b24814994.i76179370CentralFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Jul 19, 2022cenag
ils:.b24814994.i76192325Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Jul 11, 2022wdpa
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b26772401Large PrintBooksLarge print editionEnglishWheeler Publishing, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company2017443 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2017
ils:.b24814994BookBooksEnglishRiverhead Books2017322 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260beeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26772401.i84425271On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24814994.i76171012Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24814994.i76179369On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i76179382On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i76179412On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i76179394On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i8442526xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24814994.i76179400On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i76179370Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b24814994.i76192325Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse