Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The lost letter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"A gorgeous and thrilling novel... Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale."PopSugarA historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.Author of the forthcoming In Another Time. Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall. A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780399185670
9781524776954
9780399185694
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
Grouping Titlelost letter
Grouping Authorjillian cantor
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-28 03:09:43AM
Last Indexed2021-02-28 04:44:25AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780399185670

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJillian Cantor
author_displayCantor, Jillian
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_description"A gorgeous and thrilling novel... Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale."PopSugar
A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.
Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.


Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.
Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.

A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id03bffaf4-4482-45d2-46a8-3ed1f8a28265
isbn9780399185670
9780399185694
9781524776954
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24814994.i76179400Valley Hi-North LagunaFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Apr 9, 2021valag
ils:.b24814994.i76179382CarmichaelFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Holdshelfcarag
ils:.b24814994.i76171012Folsom AdultFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Mar 9, 2021fola
ils:.b24814994.i76179369Arden-DimickFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Apr 9, 2021ardag
ils:.b24814994.i76179394Elk GroveFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseIn Transitelkag
ils:.b24814994.i76179412ArcadeFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Mar 30, 2021arcag
ils:.b24814994.i76192325Woodland Public LibraryFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseDue Mar 12, 2021wdpa
ils:.b24814994.i76179370CentralFICTION Cantor, J.1falsefalseOn Holdshelfcenag
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-02-28T12:44:25.756Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Cantor, J.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Central
Elk Grove
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780399185670
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2017
ils:.b24814994BookBooksEnglishRiverhead Books, 2017.322 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260beeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:53088a24-4394-43a3-b7f0-2e07c0d8e080-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24814994.i76179400Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76179382Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76171012Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24814994.i76179369Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76179394In TransitIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76179412Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24814994.i76192325Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 71, 73, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120
ils:.b24814994.i76179370Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:c373751c-26f8-4e2f-a1d1-21c8185260be-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAustria -- History -- 1938-1945 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Love stories
World War, 1939-1945 -- Underground movements -- Austria -- Fiction
title_displayThe lost letter
title_fullThe Lost Letter A Novel
The lost letter / Jillian Cantor
title_shortThe lost letter
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Underground movements
World War, 1939-1945