Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Die young with me: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, this incredibly moving and harrowing true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer is "a resounding affirmation of how music can lift one's spirits beyond gray skies and bad news (Kirkus Reviews)."Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact, it blares constantly from the basement of Rob and Nat Rufus—identical twin brothers with spiked hair, black leather jackets, and the most kick-ass record collection in Appalachia. To them, school (and pretty much everything else) sucks. But what can you expect when you're the only punks in town? When the brothers start their own band, their lives begin to change: they meet friends, they attract girls, and they finally get invited to join a national tour and get out of their rat box little town. But their plans are cut short when Rob is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer that has already progressed to Stage Four. Not only are his dreams of punk rock stardom completely shredded, there is a very real threat that this is one battle that can't be won. While Rob suffers through nightmarish treatments and debilitating surgery, Nat continues on their band's road to success alone. But as Rob's life diverges from his brother's, he learns to find strength within himself and through his music. Die Young with Me is a "raw, honest picture of the weirdness of growing up" (Marky Ramone) and the story of a brave teen's battle with cancer and the many ways music helped him cope through his recovery.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501142628
9781501142611
9781501142635
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID03600078-09cf-42d3-5cc8-3e4b61d668bb
Grouping Titledie young with me
Grouping Authorrob rufus
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-22 02:31:48AM
Last Indexed2020-09-22 03:54:28AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorRufus, Rob,
author_displayRufus, Rob
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_descriptionIn the tradition of John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, this incredibly moving and harrowing true story of a teenager diagnosed with cancer is "a resounding affirmation of how music can lift one's spirits beyond gray skies and bad news (Kirkus Reviews)."
Punk's not dead in rural West Virginia. In fact, it blares constantly from the basement of Rob and Nat Rufus—identical twin brothers with spiked hair, black leather jackets, and the most kick-ass record collection in Appalachia. To them, school (and pretty much everything else) sucks. But what can you expect when you're the only punks in town?

When the brothers start their own band, their lives begin to change: they meet friends, they attract girls, and they finally get invited to join a national tour and get out of their rat box little town.

But their plans are cut short when Rob is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer that has already progressed to Stage Four. Not only are his dreams of punk rock stardom completely shredded, there is a very real threat that this is one battle that can't be won.

While Rob suffers through nightmarish treatments and debilitating surgery, Nat continues on their band's road to success alone. But as Rob's life diverges from his brother's, he learns to find strength within himself and through his music. Die Young with Me is a "raw, honest picture of the weirdness of growing up" (Marky Ramone) and the story of a brave teen's battle with cancer and the many ways music helped him cope through his recovery.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id03600078-09cf-42d3-5cc8-3e4b61d668bb
isbn9781501142611
9781501142628
9781501142635
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:2ea29622-fb74-448e-ac48-1f24217a9dfb-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24393137.i74580048Central781.66092 R927 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-22T10:54:28.818Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog781.66092 R927 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9781501142628
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:2ea29622-fb74-448e-ac48-1f24217a9dfbeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2016
ils:.b24393137BookBooksEnglishTouchstone Books, 2016.viii, 382 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2ea29622-fb74-448e-ac48-1f24217a9dfb-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24393137.i74580048On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetCancer -- Patients -- Biography
Punk rock musicians -- United States -- Biography
Rufus, Rob
title_displayDie young with me : a memoir
title_fullDie Young with Me A Memoir
Die young with me : a memoir / by Rob Rufus
title_shortDie young with me
title_suba memoir
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Cancer
Health & Fitness
Music
Nonfiction
Patients
Punk rock musicians
Rufus, Rob