Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Demi-gods: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

A bold debut novel for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Edan Lepucki's California—a story of love, lust, and the spaces in between, from a "captivating" (NYTBR) new voice in fiction.It is 1950, and nine-year-old Willa's sheltered childhood is about to come to an end when her mother's beau arrives with his two sons to her family's summer home in British Columbia. As Willa's older sister pairs off with the older of these boys, Willa finds herself alone in the off-kilter company of the younger, Patrick. When, one afternoon, Patrick lures Willa into a dilapidated rowboat, Willa embarks upon an increasingly damaging relationship with Patrick, one that will forever reconfigure her understanding of herself. Demi-Gods traces the tumultuous years of Willa's coming-of-age as she is drawn further into Patrick's wicked games. Though they see each other only a handful of times, each of their encounters is increasingly charged with sexuality and degradation. When Willa finally realizes the danger of her relationship with Patrick, she desperately tries to reverse their dynamic, with devastating results. Daring, singular, and provocative, Demi-Gods announces the arrival of one of the most exciting new voices in contemporary literature.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781635570700
9781501983351
9781510093898
9781635570724
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0125d1d6-6ce6-6fb5-5c1d-9932bb63f5fe
Grouping Titledemi gods
Grouping Authoreliza robertson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-17 03:11:12AM
Last Indexed2021-01-17 03:38:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Thorburn, Caitlin.
authorRobertson, Eliza,
author2-roleThorburn, Caitlin.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayRobertson, Eliza
available_at_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
Southgate
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
Southgate
display_description

A bold debut novel for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Edan Lepucki's California—a story of love, lust, and the spaces in between, from a "captivating" (NYTBR) new voice in fiction.

It is 1950, and nine-year-old Willa's sheltered childhood is about to come to an end when her mother's beau arrives with his two sons to her family's summer home in British Columbia. As Willa's older sister pairs off with the older of these boys, Willa finds herself alone in the off-kilter company of the younger, Patrick. When, one afternoon, Patrick lures Willa into a dilapidated rowboat, Willa embarks upon an increasingly damaging relationship with Patrick, one that will forever reconfigure her understanding of herself.

Demi-Gods traces the tumultuous years of Willa's coming-of-age as she is drawn further into Patrick's wicked games. Though they see each other only a handful of times, each of their encounters is increasingly charged with sexuality and degradation. When Willa finally realizes the danger of her relationship with Patrick, she desperately tries to reverse their dynamic, with devastating results.

Daring, singular, and provocative, Demi-Gods announces the arrival of one of the most exciting new voices in contemporary literature.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id0125d1d6-6ce6-6fb5-5c1d-9932bb63f5fe
isbn9781501983351
9781510093898
9781635570700
9781635570724
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT13538881Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13538881?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b2537347x.i78267262Elk GroveFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b2537347x.i78267286ArcadeFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b2537347x.i78267250Belle CooledgeFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b2537347x.i78267274CentralFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b2537347x.i78684390SouthgateFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
hoopla:MWT12247854Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12247854?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-17T11:38:12.523Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Robertson, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Belle Cooledge
Central
Elk Grove
Southgate
primary_isbn9781635570700
publishDate2017
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT13538881eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 44 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b2537347xBookBooksEnglishBloomsbury Publishing, 2018.230 pages ; 22 cm
hoopla:MWT12247854eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishW F Howes, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 45 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92eBookeBookEnglishBloomsbury Publishing2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT13538881Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2537347x.i78267262On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b2537347x.i78267286On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b2537347x.i78267250On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b2537347x.i78267274On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b2537347x.i78684390On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT12247854Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesMaple leaf audio
series_with_volumeMaple leaf audio|
subject_facetAbsentee fathers -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
British Columbia -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Nineteen fifties -- Fiction
Stepbrothers -- Fiction
Stepfamilies -- Fiction
Teenagers -- Sexual behavior -- Fiction
title_displayDemi-gods
title_fullDemi-Gods A Novel
Demi-gods / Eliza Robertson
Demi-gods [electronic resource] / Eliza Robertson
title_shortDemi-gods
title_subA Novel
topic_facetAbsentee fathers
Bildungsromans
Brothers and sisters
Fiction
Literature
Nineteen fifties
Sexual behavior
Stepbrothers
Stepfamilies
Teenagers