We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Demi-gods

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
A bold debut novel for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Edan Lepucki's California—a story of love, lust, and the spaces in between, from a "captivating" (NYTBR) new voice in fiction.
It is 1950, and nine-year-old Willa's sheltered childhood is about to come to an end when her mother's beau arrives with his two sons to her family's summer home in British Columbia. As Willa's older sister pairs off with the older of these boys, Willa finds herself alone in the off-kilter company of the younger, Patrick. When, one afternoon, Patrick lures Willa into a dilapidated rowboat, Willa embarks upon an increasingly damaging relationship with Patrick, one that will forever reconfigure her understanding of herself.

Demi-Gods traces the tumultuous years of Willa's coming-of-age as she is drawn further into Patrick's wicked games. Though they see each other only a handful of times, each of their encounters is increasingly charged with sexuality and degradation. When Willa finally realizes the danger of her relationship with Patrick, she desperately tries to reverse their dynamic, with devastating results.

Daring, singular, and provocative, Demi-Gods announces the arrival of one of the most exciting new voices in contemporary literature.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781635570700
9781510093898
9781635570724
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0125d1d6-6ce6-6fb5-5c1d-9932bb63f5fe
Grouping Titledemi gods
Grouping Authoreliza robertson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-25 02:14:20AM
Last Indexed2024-05-25 02:32:37AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Thorburn, Caitlin
author
Robertson, Eliza
author2-role
Thorburn, Caitlin,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Robertson, Eliza
available_at_catalog
Central
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Galt
Martin Luther King, Jr.
display_description
A bold debut novel for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Edan Lepucki's California—a story of love, lust, and the spaces in between, from a "captivating" (NYTBR) new voice in fiction.
It is 1950, and nine-year-old Willa's sheltered childhood is about to come to an end when her mother's beau arrives with his two sons to her family's summer home in British Columbia. As Willa's older sister pairs off with the older of these boys, Willa finds herself alone in the off-kilter company of the younger, Patrick. When, one afternoon, Patrick lures Willa into a dilapidated rowboat, Willa embarks upon an increasingly damaging relationship with Patrick, one that will forever reconfigure her understanding of herself.

Demi-Gods traces the tumultuous years of Willa's coming-of-age as she is drawn further into Patrick's wicked games. Though they see each other only a handful of times, each of their encounters is increasingly charged with sexuality and degradation. When Willa finally realizes the danger of her relationship with Patrick, she desperately tries to reverse their dynamic, with devastating results.

Daring, singular, and provocative, Demi-Gods announces the arrival of one of the most exciting new voices in contemporary literature.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
0125d1d6-6ce6-6fb5-5c1d-9932bb63f5fe
isbn
9781510093898
9781635570700
9781635570724
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-25T09:32:37.623Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Robertson, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
primary_isbn
9781635570700
publishDate
2018
publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing
W F Howes
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Bildungsromans
Coming of age -- Fiction
Families -- Fiction
Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
title_display
Demi-gods
title_full
Demi-Gods A Novel
Demi-Gods [electronic resource] / Eliza Robertson
Demi-gods / Eliza Robertson
title_short
Demi-gods
topic_facet
Coming of age
Families
Fiction
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b2537347x.i78267250Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b2537347x.i78267262GaltFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfgalag
ils:.b2537347x.i78267274CentralFICTION Robertson, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT12247854Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12247854?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b2537347xBookBooksEnglishBloomsbury Publishing2018230 pages ; 22 cm
hoopla:MWT12247854eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishW F Howes20181 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 45 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92eBookeBookEnglishBloomsbury Publishing2018

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2537347x.i78267250On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2537347x.i78267262On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b2537347x.i78267274On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT12247854Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d8f7728c-6fd2-48df-8904-631247557c92-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse